Skin Care for Lazy Summer Days

Summer is in full swing, which means I have hours of free time to lay out in the sun and soak up some Vitamin D. But it also means that I have to spend more time protecting my skin. Everyone knows that the most important part of a summer skincare routine is sunscreen application, and I have had enough burns in my life time to vouch for that! My favorite sunscreen is the Neutrogena Clear Face Sunblock, because its oil-free formula doesn’t leave excess oil that can cause acne. Even though sunscreen will prevent sunburns, there may be some other sun concerns that you should watch out for.

2223679
Image from Ulta.com

Allergic, sensitive, sunburn- and eczema- prone skin can suffer from irritation through exposure to the sun. While sunscreen protects skin from UV rays, it doesn’t safeguard skin against irritation. This is why it is important to treat your skin after sun exposure. Here are some important steps I take to prevent sun irritation!

  1. After spending time outside, my dermatologist recommended that it is best to hop in the shower right away. I have an allergy to grass, so spending excess time outside can trigger a reaction. I recommend washing your body with a gentle, low-fragranced body was such as Dove Deep Moisture Body Wash. The formula is super gentle and won’t irritate sunburns.
    prod-pw-deep-moisture-body-wash-A
    Im

    2. Right after you get out of the shower, an important step is moisturizing! This is a great time to refresh and restore your skin after spending time baking your skin outside. Once again, fragrance-free is the best way to go, because it doesn’t irritate your skin. My favorite moisturizer of all time is the CeraVe Moisturing Cream. I absolutely adore this product, and even use it as my facial moisturizer. An added tip: If you put your moisturizer in the fridge, it will be even cooler and feel amazing on your skin, especially if you are a bit burnt.

    13977967
    Image from Target.com

    3. If you are sunburnt, this is the perfect time to lather some coconut oil or aloe vera on your skin. Everyone knows that aloe vera works great for sunburns, but I also think that coconut oil does the trick, as well.

I know that these are all pretty simple ways to protect your skin from the summer heat, and have certainly saved me a lot of stress over worrying about my skin. And while sunburns can be calmed after exposure, it’s always best to prevent them with sunscreen before they even start:)

Leave a comment